Reviews

OpusClip review for gaming VODs

OpusClip review for gaming VODs: what its pricing, credit rules and import list support, who should shortlist it, and what to check in a free trial.

OpusClip is worth a free-trial run if you want to turn long streams into vertical clips from a link and you can live with credit-based billing. OpusClip’s own help article lists Twitch and Kick as import sources, though its plans article places Twitch on Pro rather than Starter. What the published material cannot tell you is how good the clips are on gameplay, and that is the part this review leaves to you to check.

No score on this page. A score needs a logged test, and none has been run.

Your stream against its plans

Arithmetic from published rules, not a test

OpusClip

240 credits a stream, 3,120 a month

  • ShortFreeShort by 3,060
  • ShortStarter$15.00/moShort by 2,970$6.00 per source hour if every credit is used
  • ShortPro$29.00/moShort by 2,820$5.80 per source hour if every credit is used
  • Not confirmedBusinessnot confirmedCredits not confirmed

Compare every tool in the calculator

Sections on this page (8)

Disclosure: VodClipsLab has not joined any affiliate program, so links here earn nothing today. How we handle affiliates.

Everything below comes from OpusClip’s pricing page, help articles and terms, read on 8 November 2026. Where the pages differ by plan or scope, we say so. Our methodology describes how the planned tests will be scored.

What the published evidence supports

OpusClip’s help article lists Twitch, Kick, YouTube, Rumble, Medal.tv, StreamYard and a public MP4 URL among its import sources, alongside local upload. Links must be public or unlisted. That is a statement of what the importer accepts, not of how well it handles a six-hour VOD.

The vendor’s Twitch page (marketing, not documentation) says to “Upload your Twitch stream or any video content” and mentions Dynamic Templates for Gaming. It does not state size or length caps, and it does not mention Kick. The plans and credits article splits sources by plan: Free names YouTube and local files, Starter adds Google Drive, Vimeo, Zoom, Rumble and StreamYard, and Pro adds sources “such as” Twitch, Facebook, LinkedIn, X, Dropbox, Loom, Riverside, Frame.io, Apple Podcast, Zoom Link and Medal.tv. The import list above, which includes Kick, does not divide by plan, so do not assume Twitch link import works on Starter, and the plan for Kick is not stated. The pricing page’s import rows list local video upload on every plan, automatic import from a verified YouTube account on Starter and Pro, and a public MP4 URL on Pro and Business; it does not list Twitch or Kick by name.

Output features on the pricing page include animated captions in 20+ languages from Starter, animated caption templates, reframing to 9:16 on all plans (1:1 and 16:9 plus object tracking from Pro), AI and stock B-roll, and publishing to YouTube Shorts, TikTok and Instagram from Starter. The page also lists a “Screenshare/gameplay layout” under its dynamic layout switch from Starter up; that is a vendor-listed feature, and how well it handles a facecam plus gameplay layout is not something we have checked. A scheduler is listed for Pro and Business only.

Pricing and credits, as of 8 November 2026

OpusClip’s pricing page has a Monthly/Yearly toggle (“Save up to 50 % with annual billing”) and shows prices in USD. It lists Free at $0 with 60 credits a month, Starter at $15 a month (150 credits; “only available in monthly”), Pro at $29 a month and Business as custom. On the yearly view, Pro is $174 billed annually, which is $14.50 a month equivalent, for 3,600 credits over 12 months, and unused credits roll over for 2 months. The free tier exports with a watermark; Starter, Pro and Business are watermark-free. Starter and Pro show free-trial buttons on the pricing page. OpusClip’s help article on pausing or cancelling a trial says a free-trial Pro account converts to a Free Forever account after 7 days.

Credits are where costs are decided. The help article says 1 credit is charged per minute of imported video, videos under a minute round up to 1 credit, and partial minutes round down. Because the charge is on imported minutes rather than clips made, reasoning suggests a long VOD costs the same whether you keep two clips or twenty. As an illustration using the stated rule only: a 4-hour VOD is 240 minutes, so 240 credits. The help article also says credits follow the “Processing timeframe” slider, so trimming a VOD to the part you want before processing lowers the charge.

The allowances are listed on the pricing page and in OpusClip’s credit help article: Free 60 credits a month, Starter 150 and Pro 300 per pack (buying more packs adds credits). At 1 credit per imported minute, that is 1 hour, 2.5 hours and 5 hours of source a month, so one 4-hour stream fits Pro but not Free or Starter. Arithmetic from the listed prices, as of 8 November 2026: on monthly billing, Starter is $6.00 and Pro $5.80 per source hour; Pro billed yearly is $174 / 3,600 credits, about $0.048 a credit or $2.90 per source hour. See OpusClip pricing for the cost maths.

Expiry, per the help article: on monthly plans credits expire after 60 days; on yearly plans the year’s credits are granted at purchase and valid for 12 months; after cancellation, remaining credits keep their original expiry date. The current article is the one cited here.

Upload caps and storage by plan

Upload cap. The help import article says local uploads are “up to 10GB per video”. As listed on the pricing page (its comparison table flattens to text, so the column mapping is inferred from block order), that matches Free and Starter at 10GB, while Pro and Business are listed at 30GB plus a public MP4 URL. The help article does not mention the higher Pro and Business figure, so this looks like a difference in plan scope rather than a contradiction. If you plan to upload a locally recorded VOD rather than paste a link, check the figure for your plan on the pricing page first. The video length article says the system supports videos up to 10 hours, and warns that longer videos may hit processing problems; the 0-1m to 10-15m range on the pricing page refers to clip length.

Export limit and storage. These are two separate rows on the pricing page. Export as MP4 is listed with a 3-day limit on Free and a 30-day limit on Starter, with no limit listed on Pro and Business. Media storage is listed as expiring after 3 days on Free and 29 days on Starter, with 100GB on Pro. Download clips you want to keep.

Who should shortlist OpusClip

  • Streamers who want to paste a Twitch or Kick VOD link rather than download multi-gigabyte files, subject to your plan: the plans article lists Twitch under Pro.
  • Creators who want captions, reframing and scheduling to several platforms in one product.
  • Anyone who prefers a monthly plan with a free tier to trial the workflow first.

Who should look elsewhere

  • If one stream is longer than your plan’s monthly credits (Free 60, Starter 150, Pro 300 per pack), you would need more packs or a trimmed source; start with Free to see the credit cost.
  • If your streams are mostly game audio with little speech, note that most clipping tools lean on transcripts. This is reasoning, not a measured result: because long stretches of gameplay carry little speech, expect to check whether the picks are moments you would keep. See the long VOD clipper roundup for sibling options.
  • If you need a statement that your clips will never be used to improve AI models: OpusClip’s help article says individual, non-enterprise users’ data “may” be used to improve AI models, stripped of personally identifiable information, and that enterprise data is not used, under contract. The terms of service do not mention training.

Rights and data

The terms say “This is a license only – your ownership in User Submissions is not affected.” The user grants OpusClip a “royalty-free, perpetual, sublicensable, irrevocable, and worldwide” licence to operate the services, and public submissions carry promotional rights. Paid users are “licensed to use the Services for commercial uses”; whether generated clips can be used commercially is not separately stated. That matters if you clip other streamers: see music and copyright in gaming clips before publishing anything with licensed music.

What to check in a free trial on one of your own VODs

Use one VOD you own, with a known highlight list you wrote down before running anything.

  1. Import path. Paste the Twitch or Kick link. Does your plan accept it, and does the credit cost shown match one credit per minute?
  2. Hit rate. How many of the suggested clips would you actually post, judged against your own list, before looking at scores?
  3. Game audio over speech. Do clips start and end on the play, or on a sentence?
  4. Layout. With facecam plus gameplay, does the 9:16 reframe keep both? Do captions sit on top of the killfeed or HUD?
  5. Music. If your VOD has music, does it land in clips you cannot post?
  6. Credits left. Note the balance before and after, and compare it with the Free 60-credit allowance.

Compare against Submagic or Vizard using the same VOD, or read the OpusClip alternatives page. More reviews are in all reviews.

Unknowns that remain

The price of additional Pro packs (the pricing page has a 1 to 15 pack selector whose prices are script-rendered and could not be read) is not stated on the pages we read, and neither is which plan gates Kick imports. Without a test, how well the clips fit gameplay, a facecam layout or music-heavy VODs remains unknown.

Last checked 8 November 2026. Prices and limits change; we re-check monthly.

Not tested yet

What a real test of this would need. None of it has been run.

  • Owner-licensed or own gaming VOD, exact tool plan and version logged, raw outputs archived, clips scored by blind rater against the published rubric

Sources

  1. OpusClip pricingPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  2. OpusClip help: how credits are consumedPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  3. OpusClip help: supported import sourcesPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  4. OpusClip help: plans and creditsPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  5. OpusClip help: video length supportedPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  6. OpusClip help: pause or cancel a free trialPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  7. OpusClip Twitch clips generatorPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  8. OpusClip help: data and AI trainingPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  9. OpusClip terms of servicePrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026

Up and down to move. Enter to open.