Compare

OpusClip vs Submagic: clip finding vs caption polish

OpusClip vs Submagic for streamers: how each is priced and limited per vendor pages as of 8 Nov 2026, and when to pick one, the other, or both.

If your main problem is finding moments in a multi-hour stream, OpusClip is the one of the two whose documentation describes that job and lists Twitch and Kick as import sources (its Plans article names Twitch under Pro, not Starter or Free). If you already have clips and mainly want caption styling, Submagic’s published plans are built around captions and per-video credits. Many streamers could reasonably use both, with OpusClip upstream and Submagic downstream, but the sources below do not show how well either one does its job on gaming footage.

Your stream against these plans

Arithmetic from published rules, not a test

OpusClip

240 credits a stream, 3,120 a month

  • ShortFreeShort by 3,060
  • ShortStarter$15.00/moShort by 2,970$6.00 per source hour if every credit is used
  • ShortPro$29.00/moShort by 2,820$5.80 per source hour if every credit is used
  • Not confirmedBusinessnot confirmedCredits not confirmed

Submagic

208 or 247 Magic Clips credits a month

  • ShortStarter$19.00/moShort by 163 to 202
  • ShortPro$39.00/moShort by 88 to 127
  • FitsBusiness$69.00/moFits on either reading

Compare every tool in the calculator

Sections on this page (6)

Disclosure: VodClipsLab has not joined any affiliate program, so links here earn nothing today. How we handle affiliates.

Documented differences at a glance

The table lists only what each vendor’s own pages state, as of 8 November 2026. “Not stated” means the page we read does not say.

Item OpusClip Submagic
Listed paid prices (USD) Starter $15/mo, Pro $29/mo, Business custom; Free $0 Starter $19/mo or $12/mo billed yearly; Pro $39 or $23; Business $69 or $41 (per member)
Annual pricing Pro $174 billed annually ($14.50 a month equivalent, 3,600 credits over 12 months); Starter is monthly only, per the pricing page’s yearly view Stated: $144, $276, $492 per year per the help article
Free tier Yes, 60 credits a month; no watermark-free export on Free Not listed as a plan; Submagic’s help article says the free trial lets you upload 3 short videos
Credit rule 1 credit per minute of imported video (help article) Upload costs 3 credits; each Magic Clip costs 8 credits (help article)
Monthly credits Free 60; Starter 150; Pro 300 per pack 45 / 120 / 300 on Starter / Pro / Business
Twitch and Kick as sources Both listed in the import-source help article; the Plans article names Twitch under Pro Not stated on the pages we read
Source length Up to 10 hours per the video-length help article Pricing page and help article list max video length of 2 / 5 / 30 minutes by plan
Clip-finding feature Core product Magic Clips, described as an add-on subscription
Captions Animated templates; custom fonts on Pro AI captions on all plans; pricing page lists 10 custom templates on each plan

What each tool is documented to do

OpusClip’s documentation centres on importing long video and returning clips. Its help article lists Twitch, Kick, YouTube, Medal.tv, Rumble and local upload among supported sources (the Plans article names Twitch under Pro, with Free limited to YouTube and local files), and its pricing page lists 9:16 reframing on Free and Starter with 1:1 and 16:9 plus object tracking on Pro and Business. Clip length can be set from 0-1m to 10-15m per the pricing page. Paid plans are watermark-free; the Free plan’s captions carry a watermark.

Submagic’s documentation centres on captions. Its Magic Clips guide says you paste a YouTube URL, upload a file, or use a public Google Drive link. The help article states that Magic Clips “is an addon subscription”, and the add-on price was not confirmed from a primary page in our research, so any cost for clip finding on Submagic is incomplete here. The pricing page also lists a maximum video length of 2, 5 and 30 minutes by plan. Whether that cap applies to Magic Clips is not stated in the guide we read, so check it before you plan around a 4-hour VOD.

Which one for which situation

The decision turns on whether you need the tool to find moments or to polish clips you already have.

  • You have raw 3 to 6 hour VODs and no list of timestamps: OpusClip is the option whose sources describe long-video import from Twitch and Kick, with a 10-hour maximum video length per its help article and Twitch listed under Pro. Because gameplay often has long stretches without speech, expect to check every suggested clip yourself; this is reasoning from how transcript-led tools work, not a measured result.
  • You already pick your own moments and want styled captions: Submagic’s captions are included on every listed plan, and the pricing page lists 15, 40 and 100 videos per month. Its per-video length limits are low, so it suits short clips rather than whole streams.
  • You want both jobs: use OpusClip to produce candidates and Submagic to restyle the keepers. You then pay for two subscriptions and handle one extra export step. The cost of that stack is the sum of the two plans below, plus the Magic Clips add-on only if you also use it.
  • You are cost-sensitive: OpusClip has a Free tier and Submagic does not list one. Free OpusClip exports lack watermark-free output, so it is a way to look at the workflow, not to publish.

Cost arithmetic from published rules

Both credit rules allow a small budget calculation. OpusClip’s help article lists 150 credits a month on Starter and 300 per Pro pack at 1 credit per imported minute. For Submagic, using its help article’s rule (3 credits to upload, 8 per Magic Clip) and the pricing page’s monthly credits, as of 8 November 2026:

  • Starter, 45 credits: one upload plus five Magic Clips uses 3 + 40 = 43 credits.
  • Pro, 120 credits: one upload plus ten Magic Clips uses 3 + 80 = 83 credits.
  • Business, 300 credits: one upload plus thirty-seven Magic Clips uses 3 + 296 = 299 credits.

These figures exclude the Magic Clips add-on price (unconfirmed) and assume the credit rules are as the help article states. They say nothing about how many of those clips you would keep.

For OpusClip, the stated rule is 1 credit per minute, so a 4-hour import would be 240 credits. Starter lists 150 credits a month and Pro 300 per pack, so 240 credits fits within one Pro pack but not within Starter. At the monthly Pro price that is $29 for a pack, and the yearly Pro figure ($174 for 3,600 credits) works out to about $0.048 a credit, or $11.60 for 240 credits, both as of 8 November 2026. See OpusClip pricing and Submagic pricing for the cost work, and the individual reviews: OpusClip review, Submagic review.

Gaps in the sources

  • OpusClip upload cap: its help article says “up to 10GB per video” for local uploads. As listed on the pricing page, that matches Free and Starter, while 30GB is listed from Pro; the help article does not mention the higher cap. Check in the upload screen.
  • Submagic pricing page: API minutes appear as 100 on the plan cards but as 10 / 10 / 100 in the comparison table. This page does not rely on API minutes.
  • Submagic terms: the page we read does not state whether outputs may be used commercially, and has an unfilled email placeholder in one section. Read the terms before relying on it for a business channel.
  • Submagic reframing is not stated on the pricing text we read, which matters if you need vertical layouts from landscape gameplay with a facecam.

What would settle it

A fair comparison needs the same gaming VOD through both tools, the exact plans logged, and clips scored blind against a published rubric. VodClipsLab has not done that, and our methodology explains what the planned test would record. Until then, see AI captions for gaming shorts, the best AI clipper for long VODs and OpusClip alternatives, or return to the comparison hub.

Last checked 8 November 2026. Prices and limits change; we re-check monthly.

Not tested yet

What a real test of this would need. None of it has been run.

  • Owner-licensed or own gaming VOD, exact tool plan and version logged, raw outputs archived, clips scored by blind rater against the published rubric

Sources

  1. OpusClip pricingPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  2. OpusClip help: plans and creditsPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  3. OpusClip help: video length supportedPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  4. OpusClip help: how credits are consumedPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  5. OpusClip help: supported import sourcesPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  6. Submagic pricingPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  7. Submagic help: how much does it costPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  8. Submagic help: Magic Clips guidePrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026

Up and down to move. Enter to open.