Compare

Eklipse vs OpusClip for gaming streams

Eklipse vs OpusClip for gaming streams: documented inputs, game detection claims, prices and credit rules as of 8 Nov 2026, with output quality unmeasured.

Choose Eklipse if you mainly clip gaming streams and want a tool whose homepage describes game-event detection; choose OpusClip if you clip a mix of content, want published pricing for each plan, or need its wider reframing and publishing options. Neither choice rests on a measured result: whether Eklipse finds better gaming moments than OpusClip is unmeasured here, and the vendors’ own claims are the only evidence in the sources.

Your stream against its plans

Arithmetic from published rules, not a test

OpusClip

240 credits a stream, 3,120 a month

  • ShortFreeShort by 3,060
  • ShortStarter$15.00/moShort by 2,970$6.00 per source hour if every credit is used
  • ShortPro$29.00/moShort by 2,820$5.80 per source hour if every credit is used
  • Not confirmedBusinessnot confirmedCredits not confirmed

Compare every tool in the calculator

Sections on this page (5)

Disclosure: VodClipsLab has not joined any affiliate program, so links here earn nothing today. How we handle affiliates.

Documented differences at a glance

Everything below is what each vendor’s page states as of 8 November 2026. “Not stated” means the page we read does not say.

Item Eklipse OpusClip
Listed prices Premium “starts at $24.99 per month”; Premium Pro $39.99 per month Starter $15/mo, Pro $29/mo, Business custom; Free $0
Annual price $179.99 a year (about $14.99 a month) on web, per Eklipse’s help article; not on the homepage Pro $174 billed annually ($14.50 a month equivalent, 3,600 credits over 12 months); Starter is monthly only
Free tier Help article updated 13 August 2026 says there is no free-forever plan and export requires Premium, with a free preview scan of a recent stream (help); a help page dated August 2025 describes free 720p exports with a watermark Free plan, 60 credits a month; no watermark-free export
Inputs Twitch, Kick, YouTube Live; Xbox and PS5 streams if they go live on Twitch or YouTube Twitch, Kick, YouTube, Medal.tv and others per the import help article; the Plans article names Twitch under Pro, with Free limited to YouTube and local files
Game detection Vendor claim: supports “more than 3,000 games”, with detection “tuned for each game category”; uses game events, audio spikes and chat signals; accuracy not stated Not described as game-specific; marketing page mentions Dynamic Templates for Gaming
Output Vertical 9:16, editable auto-captions, templates; “Ultra Highlights” up to 1440p, grouped under free features in the homepage menu 9:16 on Free and Starter; 9:16, 1:1, 16:9 with object tracking on Pro and Business
Publishing TikTok, YouTube Shorts, Instagram Reels, Facebook via Content Planner Starter: Shorts, TikTok, Instagram; Pro adds more platforms and a scheduler
Credit or minute rule Minute limits not stated; clip limits depend on the plan 1 credit per minute of imported video
Clip retention 14 days on monthly plans, 90 days on annual plans MP4 export limit 3 days Free, 30 days Starter, no limit Pro and Business

What “built for gaming” means in the sources

Eklipse’s homepage FAQ describes detection built on game events such as kills, wins and achievements, plus audio spikes and chat signals. That is a vendor description. The page gives no accuracy figure and says Eklipse supports “more than 3,000 games”; we attribute that count to the vendor. (Eklipse’s own comparison hub says 1,000+ titles, so the vendor’s pages differ; treat the number as marketing either way.)

OpusClip’s documentation describes importing long video, and its help article lists Twitch and Kick among supported sources (the Plans article names Twitch under Pro). Its Twitch landing page, which is marketing, says to upload your Twitch stream or any video content. It does not describe game-event detection.

Reasoning, not measurement: a tool that reads game events or chat might surface a kill or a clutch round that has no spoken cue, where a tool that relies on speech would have nothing to hook onto. A tool that reads audio spikes could also mistake loud music or crowd noise for a highlight. Test both on the same stream before paying for a year.

Pricing and limits, with the gaps

OpusClip’s Starter at $15 a month is below Eklipse’s $24.99 Premium, but the two plans’ limits are not comparable from the pages because Eklipse does not state minute or clip numbers, while OpusClip lists 150 credits a month on Starter and 300 per Pro pack. Ask Eklipse for its limits before comparing.

  • Eklipse annual plans add 1080p lossless export per the homepage FAQ, and keep clips 90 days instead of 14. Its help article lists $179.99 a year on web (about $14.99 a month; mobile prices differ), against OpusClip Pro at $174 billed annually, a $14.50 a month equivalent, as of 8 November 2026. The two buy different allowances (Eklipse states no minute or clip numbers), so the near-equal sticker prices are not a like-for-like saving.
  • OpusClip’s credit rule is 1 credit per minute, with partial minutes rounded down and videos under a minute rounded up. For a 4-hour stream that rule gives 240 credits, which fits within one 300-credit Pro pack but not within Starter’s 150 a month. Credits on monthly plans expire after 60 days.
  • Eklipse’s free status is unclear across its own pages: the homepage menu lists free features, its August 2026 help says exporting needs Premium, and an August 2025 help page describes watermarked 720p free exports. Check the signup flow before assuming a free tier.

For OpusClip’s own cost breakdown, see OpusClip pricing.

Gaps and open questions

  • OpusClip’s help article says uploads are up to 10GB; as listed on its pricing page that matches Free and Starter, with 30GB listed from Pro. The help article does not mention the higher cap.
  • Neither vendor’s pages give processing time or acceptance-rate figures.
  • Eklipse’s own comparison page against OpusClip is vendor-authored and was not used as evidence here.

Who should pick which

Pick Eklipse if you stream games on Twitch, Kick or YouTube Live and want to see whether game-event detection finds more of your moments than a speech-led tool; start with its free preview scan, which its help article describes. Pick OpusClip if you also clip podcasts, interviews or non-gaming video, if you want 16:9 and 1:1 exports, or if you want plan prices you can read in full. If you run both kinds of content, the safest approach is to run one stream through both and compare the exports yourself, since our own planned blind-scored run, described in our methodology, has not happened.

More reading: Eklipse review, OpusClip review, best AI clipper for Twitch streamers, best AI clipper for Kick, Eklipse alternatives, OpusClip alternatives, and the comparison hub.

Last checked 8 November 2026. Prices and limits change; we re-check monthly.

Not tested yet

What a real test of this would need. None of it has been run.

  • Owner-licensed or own gaming VOD, exact tool plan and version logged, raw outputs archived, clips scored by blind rater against the published rubric

Sources

  1. Eklipse homepage and FAQPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  2. Eklipse help: how much does Premium costPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  3. Eklipse help: Free vs Premium plansPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  4. Eklipse comparison hubPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  5. OpusClip help: plans and creditsPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  6. OpusClip pricingPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  7. OpusClip help: how credits are consumedPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  8. OpusClip help: supported import sourcesPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  9. OpusClip: Twitch clips generatorPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026

Up and down to move. Enter to open.