Reviews
Crossclip review: Streamlabs clip converter
Crossclip (Streamlabs Cross Clip) review from published docs: what it converts, Ultra bundle limits, the listed Ultra price and what to verify first.
Crossclip, which Streamlabs writes as Cross Clip, is a converter that turns a Twitch clip into a vertical video for TikTok and similar apps, not an AI tool that searches a VOD for highlights. This Crossclip review therefore asks a narrow question: is it a sensible way to reformat clips you already have, and what does it cost, given that the pages we could read give an old standalone price and a bundle price without a stated billing period.
No score on this page. A score needs a logged test, and none has been run.
Sections on this page (9)
Disclosure: VodClipsLab has not joined any affiliate program, so links here earn nothing today. How we handle affiliates.
Verdict in short
Shortlist Crossclip if you already clip on Twitch and want to reformat those clips to vertical, especially if you already use or are considering Streamlabs Ultra. Skip it if you need something to find moments in a 4-hour VOD, because the Streamlabs pages we read describe a converter and do not state highlight detection. Game detection and the current standalone Pro price could not be confirmed from the pages we could read.
What Cross Clip is, per Streamlabs
Streamlabs’ Cross Clip announcement post (published 15 July 2021, “Last Updated on October 09, 2025”) says the tool takes Twitch clips and converts them for TikTok, Instagram Reels or YouTube Shorts, and that you can upload your own content, import your own Twitch clips, or enter the URL of a clip. It describes an editor where you drag camera frames around the screen and adjust the layout. That post does not mention YouTube or Kick as input sources, game detection or highlight finding, and the Streamlabs plans page for Cross Clip returned no readable text when we fetched it. Treat the tool as a clip-to-vertical converter until Streamlabs’ own pages say more. For the end-to-end job, see our Twitch clips to TikTok and Shorts workflow.
Free versus Pro
Streamlabs’ Cross Clip plans page loaded but returned no readable text for us, so the current standalone plan details are unconfirmed. The 2021 announcement post (last updated 9 October 2025) says Cross Clip is free and that a paid plan, Cross Clip Pro, was available for $5 a month or $50 a year, removing the Cross Clip watermark and the outro video with the Cross Clip logo and exporting in 1080p and 60 FPS. That price comes from a launch announcement and may not match today’s checkout. Check the live page before relying on it.
The Streamlabs Ultra page, which we did read, gives firmer information about the bundled version: it says Ultra includes Cross Clip Pro and that Cross Clip Pro allows 1-hour videos and 250GB storage, while the Free plan allows 30-minute videos and 15GB, as of 8 November 2026. Ultra also lists Podcast Editor Pro and other items such as 10 active automations and 10GB cloud storage.
The Streamlabs Ultra price difference
Streamlabs does not say which billing period its Ultra headline price refers to, so treat it as unresolved until you see the checkout screen.
- Streamlabs’ own Ultra page says “Starting at $15.75/mo”. It also showed a promo of $16.66 for the first month or $66 off the first year with a code, which the page says ended on 1 November 2026, a week before we read it. The monthly and annual list prices are not stated on that page, and the page does not say what “starting at” refers to.
- We could not open any third-party listing of Ultra prices, so we do not quote them.
The “starting at” wording suggests a lowest-tier or annual-billing figure, but that is our reading, not a statement from Streamlabs. Check the price at checkout, with the billing period visible, before you decide whether Ultra is cheaper than buying Cross Clip Pro alone, and do not assume which tier your own region will see.
Where Crossclip fits
Reasoning, not a measured result: a converter works on the clip you hand it, so the quality of the highlight is decided before Crossclip is involved. That means its value is in reframing and export, such as how it handles a facecam and gameplay layout, not in choosing moments. Twitch makes its own portrait version of clips (cropped to keep cam and gameplay), and its help article says you can download landscape or portrait versions of clips from your own channel, so check whether Twitch’s built-in version already covers your need before adding a tool. Our facecam and gameplay layout guide lists what to look for in the result.
Who should shortlist Crossclip
- Twitch streamers with a stack of existing clips to turn into vertical posts.
- Streamlabs users who would get Cross Clip Pro as part of Ultra.
- Creators who want a free version to look at the output and the watermark first.
Who should not
- People who want AI to find highlights in long VODs; see AI clippers for Twitch streamers.
- Anyone who wants a confirmed standalone Pro price before testing.
- Anyone who needs a watermark-free free plan; see free AI clippers without a watermark.
Compare with StreamLadder, which describes a similar editor and converter with Kick and YouTube imports, or StreamLadder alternatives.
Downsides from the published evidence
- The plans page returned no readable text, and the Ultra headline price has no stated billing period.
- Game detection is not stated on the pages read, and the only standalone Pro price we could read is from a 2021 announcement.
- Free output carries a Cross Clip watermark and an outro video with the Cross Clip logo, going by the announcement post’s description of what Pro removes.
What to check in a trial on one of your own clips
- Convert a real Twitch clip of yours on the free plan. Is there a watermark or outro?
- Check the layout of facecam and gameplay in the vertical frame.
- Look at where captions or text go relative to the killfeed and HUD.
- Look at what you export and at what resolution and frame rate.
- Before paying, view the checkout screen for both Cross Clip Pro and Ultra and write down the billing period, price and any promo end date.
Our methodology explains how future measured tests will be scored. More verdicts are in reviews.
Last checked 8 November 2026. Prices and limits change; we re-check monthly.
Not tested yet
What a real test of this would need. None of it has been run.
- Owner-licensed or own gaming VOD, exact tool plan and version logged, raw outputs archived, clips scored by blind rater against the published rubric